Skip To Main Content
Actors Church Logo

Who's Who

Read bios for our Clergy, Churchwardens and Staff team. If you would like to contact a particular person, you can email them on the address in their bio. If there is no email listed, please email and your email will be forwarded

The Reverend Simon Grigg


After training in theatre at the University of Warwick, Simon worked as a director and stage manager until his Ordination to the Priesthood in 1990. He served as Curate in the Cowley Team Ministry in Oxford, under the inspired leadership of Fr. Keith Haydon, and was Vicar of St. Mary Magdalene, Munster Square, London from 1995-2006. He was appointed Rector of St. Paul’s in May 2006. When not in church you will usually find him in a bar, a theatre or the gym.


The Reverend Richard Syms

Associate Rector

Richard is a professional actor and theatre director as well as a priest of more than 50 years.  He has made countless TV and stage appearances,  and directed over a hundred shows ranging from Greek tragedy to Pinter, Shakespeare to American musicals.   In film  he has worked with directors including Mike Leigh, Anthony Minghella, Stephen Frears, Peter Hall, Thomas Vinterberg and Phylida Lloyd.  He's been in and out of the Actors' Church since the 60s!

Phil Hunt

Parish Administrator and Eco Lead

Phil is the parish administrator and works Monday-Thursday. Phil is the first port of call for most enquiries by phone or email. He also runs Fr. Simon's diary, arranges new plaques, and manages the church's website and IT systems. Phil is our newly appointed Eco Lead and is spearheading our journey to becoming an Eco Church.

Phil is also Electoral Roll Officer and PCC Secretary.


Ben Chamberlain

Venue Manager

Ben started work with St Paul’s Church in 2019 and manages the day-to-day running of the church site and events. Responsible for curating the busy events programme, Ben also looks after operational management including Health and Safety, staff training, and event staffing.


Laura Wickham

Business Support Manager

Laura is our Business Support Manager.


Sophie Buckman

Administrative Assistant

Sophie is our Administrative Assistant.


Marisha Widdas

Treasurer and Lay Vice Chair of the PCC

Marisha is our Treasurer.

Marisha can be contacted via the church office.


Caretaker and Groundskeeper

Rob is our caretaker.

Rob can be contacted via the church office.

Carol Bavin

Head Gardener

Carol is our gardener.

Carol can be contacted via the church office.

Alex Campbell


Alex is one of our churchwardens.

Alex can be contacted via the church office.

Max Lacey


Max is one of our churchwardens.

Max can be contacted via the church office.

Robert Zampetti

Churchwarden and PCC Safeguarding Officer

Although Robert has retired once already, he is currently an associate partner for EY.  An American who is proud to have become a British Citizen, Robert came to "the Actors' Church" in 2007 on the recommendation of his Anglican pastor in San Francisco from where he moved.  He left two years later to work in Montreal followed by Hong Kong before returning in 2014 when he was happy to reconnect with the wonderful people in the parish he had come to know.  Robert is a member of the House of Laity in the General Synod.  He is also chairman of the Financial Scrutiny and Communications committees of Save the Parish whose mission is to refocus the agenda of the Church of England leadership on the importance of building strong, vibrant parishes.

Simon Gutteridge

Organist and Director of Music

Simon Gutteridge is our incumbent organist.

Simon can be contacted via the church office.

Nick Gallagher


Nick is our choirmaster.

Nick can be contacted via the church office.

Al Groves

Receptionist and Greeter

Al is a local actor who volunteers on our reception desk and welcomes those coming into church.

The Parochial Church Council consists of:

Rev. Simon Grigg (Chair)

Marisha Widdas (Lay Vice-Chair)

Alexander Campbell (Churchwarden)

Max Lacey (Churchwarden)

Robert Zampetti (Churchwarden)

Carol Bavin

Josephine Buchan

Alison Cattermoule

Jennifer Hoare

Anthony Hogg

Margaret Houston

Elizabeth Shaw

James Ward

PCC Secretary: Phil Hunt

Carol Bavin (Head Gardener)

Chris Crickmore (Assistant Gardener)

Kathryn Meisle (Assistant Gardener)

Rob K (Groundskeeper and Caretaker)

Join Our Email Newsletter

Follow Us on Social Media

Get In Touch

Phone: 1225 6387 020

Email: gro.hcruhcsrotca@ofni

St Pauls Church
Bedford Street

© 2024 Actors Church , All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Website by Exposure Design